Home

 

Guided Hill Walks

 

Navigation & Skills Training

 

Advice & Recommended Equipment

 

About Us

 

Prices & Conditions

 

Contact Us

 

Links to Other Sites

         

Links to other useful sites

More about the areas we use -

The Lake District - http://www.lake-district.gov.uk

Snowdonia - http://www.eryri-npa.co.uk

The Yorkshire Dales - http://www.yorkshiredales.org.uk

The Scottish Highlands - http://www.visithighlands.com

 

Other useful sites -

The Met Office - Weather forecasting for mountain areas - http://www.metoffice.gov.uk/loutdoor/mountainsafety/

MWIS Mountain Weather Information Service - http://www.mwis.org.uk

Walking World    http://www.walkingworld.com    Over 4500 self-guided walks in the UK and on the continent - Market leaders, and still the best!

NNAS    http://www.nnas.org.uk   Home page of the National Navigation Award Scheme

BMC   http://www.thebmc.co.uk     Home page of the British Mountaineering Council, representative body of hill goers in England and Wales. (Includes details of their insurance scheme)

Mountaineering Council of Scotland -  http://www.mcofs.org.uk    Representative body of hill goers in Scotland. (Has a link to the BMC insurance scheme)

Mountain Rescue England and Wales -  http://www.mountain.rescue.org.uk   Includes information on how to make a donation to UK mountain rescue.

Mountain Rescue Committee of Scotland -  http://www.mrcofs.org   Mountain Rescue in Scotland.

Tim Blakemore - Northern Mountain Sport -   http://www.northernmountainsport.co.uk/   If you want to set your sights on more technical ascents at home or abroad, or are looking for a mountain training course, Tim Blakemore is your man.   Tim is a fully qualified mountain guide (IFMGA  and BMG) who also holds the Mountain Instructor Certificate (MIC).  He also climbs ice at a ridiculously high standard and skis as well; what's more he's a really nice guy who will leave you with a smile on your face at the end of a day in the mountains.

HappyHiker.co.uk - http://happyhiker.co.uk  John Kelly's excellent website provides simple to follow directions for walking various routes, including GPS downloads, and gives basic advice on a variety of walking issues.  A great resource if you want to try self-guided walks.

Bradford CHA Rambling and Social Club - http://www.bradfordwalking.org/index.html  - Their website proudly states that they are "Probably the friendliest walking club in Yorkshire".  They are certainly one of the busiest, and anyone in the Bradford area of West Yorkshire who enjoys a good walk in good company should check out their website.

Goodwill Training Associates -  http://www.goodwilltraining.co.uk   A well respected and innovative company offering training in individual, managerial, and team skills.  Training is designed to be enjoyable, stimulating and participative, and often uses the outdoors.  Leaders in their field, and highly recommended for your corporate training needs.

 

When Paul isn't on the hills, you might see him in action with Long Meg, Cumbria's hottest ceilidh band - http://www.longmegband.co.uk              

You can find out what's going on at Hillcraft by checking out our BLOG at http://hillcraftguidedwalking.wordpress.com/

 

Home |  Guided Walks  |  Navigation Training |  Recommended Equipment  |  About Us  |  Prices |  Contact  |  Links

Copyright 2009 Paul Shorrock Hillcraft Guided Walking